General Discussion

Your thoughts, feedback & ideas around The Covid Tutoring Initiative can be discussed here

I have an old degree in theoretical biology and a little bit of research experience (in math biology) . I have read or skimmed many papers from NECSI (mostly on physics arxiv). I’m mostly interested in social sciences, and their interactions with biology, ecology, etc. ( follow some of the papers posted on arxiv’s covd site–bioarxiv, etc; and some sites such as https://sciencehouse.wordpress.com (from NIH), some from AAAS and more.

I’m not at the technical level of PhDs in physics, but i’m above the level of people who don’t know what a virus or the SIR model is.

I also listen to alot of media (which is filled with what I consider non-scientific information —I live in an area with a large african american population and many of them think COVID was human made, some don’t think it exists—and don’t wear masks or social distance, and there are actually a fairly large number of COVID deaths here —and a large majority are african americans. )

(I’ve been tested and came out negative though I was also told it may just have been ‘indetectable’.).

I’m really interested in education (including for myself)—we have an interaction of many ‘pandemics’ or issues here-COVID , the upcoming national and local elections, a ‘homicide epidemic’, an ‘opiate epidemic’, mental illness issues, mixture of increasing poverty and increasing wealth, a record number of 90+ degree days (‘global warming’), etc. This is Wash DC.

I just wonder if there are any ways to be involved in discussions about all of these factors. (I’m not in a unviersity community and the local people don’t really deal with these issues—they focus on survival --whether its going to work/childcare/home education or being unemployed.